Events Archive

Biophysics Seminar

Biophysics Seminar Series - David K. Lubensky (U. Michigan)

Mon, Apr 2, 2012, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
"Planar polarity, epithelial cell packing, and mechanics: Some fishy examples."
Lunch at 11:45, seminar begins at 12.

Biophysics Seminar Series - Jané Kondev (Brandeis U.) “Regulation of transcriptional noise in bacteria”

Mon, Mar 26, 2012, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Genes encoded in the cell's DNA are read by RNA polymerase and converted into messenger RNA in the process of transcription.

Biophysics Seminar Series - Herbert Levine, UCSD/Rice

Mon, Dec 12, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Herbert Levine, UCSD/Rice

Biophysics Seminar Series - Olga Dudko, UCSD

Mon, Dec 5, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Olga Dudko, UCSD

Biophysics Seminar Series - Otger Campas, Harvard

Mon, Nov 28, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Otger Campas, Harvard

Biophysics Seminar Series - Boris Shraiman, KITP/UCSB

Mon, Nov 21, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Boris Shraiman, KITP/UCSB

Biophysics Seminar Series - Lars Hufnagel, EMBL

Mon, Nov 14, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Lars Hufnagel, EMBL

Biophysics Seminar Series - Eleni Katifori, Rockefeller

Mon, Nov 7, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Eleni Katifori, Rockefeller

Biophysics Seminar Series - Dan Needleman, Harvard

Mon, Oct 24, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Dan Needleman, Harvard Title of talk: "Physical Aspects of Spindle Assembly"
This lecture is part of the Home & Away Harvard-Princeton series.

Biophysics Seminar Series - Dan Goldman, Georgia Tech

Mon, Oct 17, 2011, 11:45 am to 1:00 pm
Dan Goldman, Georgia Tech Title of talk: "Swimming In Sand"
Lunch at 11:45 - Talk begins at 12:00.

Xiaowei Zhuang (Harvard)

Mon, Apr 25, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm


Marc Ptashne (Sloan-Kettering) - Title tba

Mon, Apr 18, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm


Anirvan Sengupta (Rutgers) - Title tba

Mon, Apr 11, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm


Ralf Bundschuh (Ohio State) - Title tba

Mon, Apr 4, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm


Albrecht Ott (Saarland) - Title tba

Mon, Mar 28, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm


Nick Buchler (Duke) - Title tba

Mon, Mar 21, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm


John Beggs (Indiana) - Condensed Gray Matter: Is the brain operating near a critical point?

Vijay Pande (Stanford) - Some Surprises in the Biophysics of Protein Dynamics

Mon, Feb 28, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
The self-assembly of proteins ("protein folding") is one of the key steps in the function of proteins, such as enzymes and antibodies. The mechanism by which this assembly occurs has been an outstanding question in molecular biophysics for decades. Also, protein misfolding has been linked to numerous diseases, such as Alzhemier's and Huntington'...

John Toner (U Oregon)-The flocks in you: liquid and crystalline flocking in cell membrane actin

Mon, Feb 21, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
Flocking - the collective motion of large numbers of organisms or other self-propelled entities - exhibits a number of strange and baffling phenomena.

Erez Lieberman-Aiden (Harvard)-How the Genome Folds

Mon, Feb 14, 2011, 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm
I describe Hi-C, a novel technology for probing the three-dimensional architecture of whole genomes by coupling proximity-based ligation with massively parallel sequencing. Working with collaborators at the Broad Institute and UMass Medical School, we used Hi-C to construct spatial proximity maps of the human genome at a resolution of 1Mb.

Pages