Associated Programs

  • Astrophysics
    There is a long tradition of collaboration between the Physics and Astrophysics Departments.  Professors Jo Dunkley (Physics), Lyman Page (Physics), Suzanne Staggs (Physics), Paul Steinhardt (Physics) and David Spergel (Astrophysics) are particularly closely engaged in these collaborative efforts.  
  • Chemistry
    The Chemistry Department is in a  new building immediately adjacent to Physics.  Chemistry Professors Roberto Car, Garnet Chan and Salvatore Torquato are closely associated with the Physics Department.
  • Electrical Engineering
    Professors Ravin Bhatt, Mansour Shayegan and Andrew Houck of the Electrical Engineering Department are also Associated Faculty in Physics.
  • Mathematics
    The Mathematical Physics group in the Physics Department includes a joint appointment between Math and Physics: Professor Michael Aizenman. Professors Ys G. Sinai and Mihalis Dafermos are also Associated Faculty in Physics.   In addition to this, several members of the Physics Department, Michael Aizenman, William Bialek and Frans Pretorius, serve as Associate Members of the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics.
  • Molecular Biology
    A growing interface between biology and physics is exploited by a number of faculty members, including Professors Robert Austin (Physics), Thomas Gregor (Physics), Joshua Shaevitz (Physics), and Ned Wingreen (Molecular Biology).

Related Institutes

  • Institute for Advanced Study
    There is a close relationship between the high-energy theory groups in the Physics Department and in the Institute's School of Natural Sciences, including a joint seminar series.  Cosmology and Mathematical Physics are also well represented at the Institute.
  • Lewis-Siegler Institute of Integrative Genomics
    Faculty members Bill Bialek, Joshua Shaevitz, and Thomas Gregor are affiliated both with the Physics Department and with Genomics.  Physics faculty have been closely involved in creating a new Integrated Science curriculum for undergraduates.
  • Princeton Center for Complex Materials (PCCM)
    Physics faculty members B. Andrei Bernevig, F. Duncan Haldane, N. Phuan Ong, Jason Petta, and Ali Yazdani are principal investigators at PCCM, a National Science Foundation supported Materials Research Science and Engineering Center (MRSEC) at Princeton University. The center is dedicated to pushing the frontiers of complexity in materials science – bringing together over 30 faculty members from six Princeton University departments in the natural sciences and engineering.
  • Princeton Center for Theoretical Science
    Physics Professors Paul Steinhardt, Igor Klebanov, Curtis Callan, Herman Verlinde and B. Andrei Bernevig together with Pablo Debenedetti (Engineering),  Eve Ostriker (Astrophysics), Howard Stone (MAE) and Ned Wingreen (Molecular Biology) are the Faculty Fellows of this new center for the exploration of the broad sweep of theoretical science.
  • Princeton Institute for the Science and Technology of Materials (PRISM)
    Physics faculty members involved in the interdisciplinary materials research at PRISM include Nai-Phuan Ong, M. Zahid Hasan, Jason Petta, and Ali Yazdani.

Professional Societies